Grenada Broadcasting Network

24th July 2024




“Managing, leading and living change for a sustainable future”

The theme under which the island’s lone tertiary institution held its 30th annual graduation ceremony on Thursday July 18th.

Over 600 students graduated from fifty programs, obtaining associate degrees, technical diplomas and certificates during the academic years 2016 – 2019.

This year was historic for the T.A Marryshow Community College, as the number of honor students increased significantly and for the first time, four students: Stephon Benjamin, Jeanelle Brathwaite, Salisha Dominic and Allisha James obtain perfect 4.0 grade point averages.

Featured Speaker Dr. Luz Longsworth Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal at UWI Cavehill Open Campus in addressing the theme, reminded graduates that effecting change has to occur by creating a core of stability.

“How do you manage to remain steady on a bicycle?” She quizzed the students. “Balance? But how do you balance? Are you stiff and steady for the balance? No… Aren’t you always moving from side to side? Yes to create that sense of stability you have to keep changing, you have to keep moving, you have to keep balancing, or else you won’t get anywhere,” she told the 600 plus graduates.

Valedictorian Jenielle Brathwaite told the graduates to carefully assess their destination path in the quest to effect change.

She challenged them to make wise choices that will not result only in self -praise, but prosperity to their family and country.

“Working hard is good, but do not do so for the sole purpose of achieving a goal at the expense of relationships…”

The Media Studies programme at the college also received some recognition, as four students graduated with Associate’s Degrees.

Rickisha St. Louis secured the prize for the Most Outstanding Media Student, with a GPA of 3.95. She was presented with an award by General Manager of the Grenada Broadcasting Network, Odette Campbell.

The other Media Studies graduates were Janelle Grant Hamlet who also graduated with honors, June Paul and Rena Pierre.

Facebook Comments